Education in Suffolk

Curriculum Overview

All pupils of compulsory school age receive a full-time supervised education. This education is intended to give pupils experience in linguistic, mathematical, scientific, technological, human and social, physical and aesthetic and creative aspects. The curriculum provides for the teaching of Personal, Social, Health, Economic Education which is taught to class groups as a timetabled discrete subject. All subjects incorporate Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural development.


The curriculum is broad and balanced, offering rich and varied opportunities for the development of academic interest and intellectual curiosity. A wide range of enriching, enjoyable and challenging activities, are offered which stimulate and develop the interests of each child, and promote a healthy lifestyle. The Ryes College is committed to providing a programme of education which will challenge and engage pupils, offer continuity and progression of learning and provide a secure foundation on which to progress onto college or work.


All curriculum subject matter is appropriate for the age and aptitudes of the pupils in each school year, including any pupils with an Education Health Care (ECP) Plan/ disability whose needs are reviewed annually. Our curriculum provision enables all pupils to have the opportunity to learn and make progress including those with educational special needs. Every opportunity, for all pupils, is provided to enable pupils to develop their speaking, listening, Literacy and Numeracy skills, as set out in the schemes of work for each curriculum area.


The provision for a pupil with a learning difficulty depends on a pupil's need having been formally diagnosed; and may include such help as individual support within the classroom. Teaching staff are well informed, employ a range of effective learning and teaching strategies and are skilled at teaching pupils with learning difficulties and/or disabilities and those with particular special educational needs.


We follow the eight areas in the Independent Schools' Curriculum and teach these through a range of subjects including:


  • Maths

  • English

  • Science

  • ICT

  • Design and Technology

  • Art

  • Food Technology

  • PSHE

  • Independence Skills Horticulture

  • Music


  • Religious Education

  • MFL

  • Geography

  • History

  • PE

  • Construction

  • Enterprise


All of these subjects are taught at both Key Stage 3 and 4 and then personalised at Key Stage 5.


Alongside the normal curriculum every pupil has a bespoke timetable enabling engagement in both group and individual lessons with opportunities such as :


  • College placements

  • Work experience opportunities

  • Furniture restoration, mechanics

  • Animal husbandry and volunteering

  • Charity work & fundraising


Pupils are taught in stage, not age, groups and form positive peer relations.  Restorative Practice and the skills needed to engage in this process are overtly taught.  Pupils also have the opportunity to learn to facilitate these meetings and act as peer mentors.