Education in Norfolk

Welcome from our Head Teacher

Before I tell you about our fantastic school, can I first thank you for taking the time to visit our site and find out more about what we do.

We are a small independent special school for 11-18 year olds based in Cromer, on the beautiful North Norfolk coast. Our school is in close proximity to some amazing natural learning spaces including many beaches, Sheringham Park and Felbrigg Hall. Our focus is on re-engagement with learning for young people who have struggled in mainstream education, and we use the natural environment around us as a resource to create an exciting and individualised curriculum for our learners. Understanding the individual needs of our pupils is important to us and so we provide eight places at the school and a high staff to pupil ratio.

Matt Norman Headteacher

We offer a therapeutic and nurturing environment which suits pupils with a range of learning difficulties including Social, Emotional and Mental Health (SEMH) difficulties, ADHD, ASD and Attachment  Disorders. We pride ourselves on offering a safe, supportive place for vulnerable young people to develop their potential so that they can lead independent and successful lives. We work effectively with Local Authorities, external agencies and families in providing a service to enable young people to successfully make the transition to adult life.

I hope you find the information in the prospectus helpful, but

please do ring me to find out more or arrange a visit so that you

 can get a true feel of just how special our school really is.     

At our school we aim to provide a safe, nurturing and caring environment which helps our pupils explore opportunities to find their passions, develop their skills and forge their own individual identities.
We provide a curriculum which emphasises Literacy & Numeracy skills, Personal and Social Development and Learning through the Environment to help our pupils become confident members of society ready to forge successful independent lives

Our Aims & Values

Through an inclusive and creative curriculum, these shared values are consistently explored, developed and promoted;

  • Ambition – An expectation that we will always try our hardest to achieve our best

  • Confidence – Promoting self belief to help achieve individual and team goals

  • Co-operation – Building relationships & working together to achieve the best results

  • Happiness – Finding positivity in all that we do & creating inner peace

  • Inclusion – Providing opportunities for all & encouraging participation

  • Resilience – Accepting setbacks and finding solutions to overcome them

  • Respect – Appreciating, understanding & accepting differing views and opinions

Term Dates 2019/2020

Autumn Term

First Day of Term: Thursday 5th September 2019

Half term Monday 21st October 2019 to Friday 25th October 2019

Last Day of Term: Wednesday 18th December 2019

Students Christmas holiday Thursday 19th December 2019 to Monday 6th January 2020

Inset Days For Staff: Tuesday 3rd and Wednesday 4th September 2019

Spring Term

First Day of Term: Tuesday 7th January 2020

Half term: Monday 17th February 2020 to Friday 21st February 2020

Last Day of Term: Thursday 2nd April 2020

Spring (Easter) holiday: Friday 3rd April 2020 to Friday 17th April 2020

Inset Days For Staff: Monday 6th January, Friday 3rd April 2020

Summer Term

First Day of Term: Monday 20th April 2020

Bank Holiday: Friday 8th May 2020 Half term: Monday 25th May 2020 to Friday 29th May 2020

Last Day of Term: Tuesday 21st July 2020

Summer holidays start: Wednesday 22nd July 2020

Staff Inset Day: Wednesday 22nd July 2020

Please reload

 

© 2018 The Ryes College Ltd